Tags

, , ,

A few choice updates enhanced my gaming library this week.

s alerted to in my comments section, Campaign Series: Vietnam has had a substantial update within the last week or two. I downloaded and installed the new version, but I have yet to play a scenario since I’ve done so. More to come, I suppose.

Meeting the French at Crecy

Among that older content was the February DLC package, Storm of Arrows (not to be confused with A Storm of Arrows), said game’s Hundred Years War package. In this case, I wanted to give my newly-acquired content a spin right off the bat. The Battle of Crécy is one the the “epic battles” in this DLC as was timely in terms of my reading. Unfortunately, I did not do Edward III proud with my initial performance.

Instead, I managed to do my wallet a small favor.

This looks tougher than I would have imagined based upon the history books

The discount for any “old” DLC was 10%. Not enough to really turn purchase into a “bargain,” but enough to tempt a computer game junkie like myself into pulling the trigger. Steam also applies a “bundle” discount, whereby you get a 10% for buying the base game plus all of the DLCs at the same time. Better yet, that discount applies even if you’ve already purchased part of the “bundle.” In that case, you get your 10% off on just the remaining items, even if that is only one or two products. This becomes a temptation in cases like this one, where some of the DLCs are discounted and some are not. I CAN get a 10% discount on the latest release, but only if I also buy 3 older, lightly-discounted DLCs at the same time.

I almost did. Then I looked at how much I was spending versus how much I would save and thought better of it.

What I didn’t look at, fortunately, was the content of that new DLC, Rise of the Swiss. You see, this is the release where Medieval includes the armies of the Wars of the Roses as well a pair of the major battles (Towton and Bosworth). Had I noticed that, I probably would have picked up it right then. Fortunately for my sense of fiscal responsibility, the discounts are now over and I have to wait until the next promotion. When I do, I’ll be eager to judge which game does the Wars of the Roses better; Pike and Shot or FoGII: Medieval. I’ll try to let you know about it when I do.

*I’m pretty sure the promotion was also on the Slitherine website at the same time. As I’ve suggested before, a direct-purchase from the company comes with a Steam key so, all else being equal, it’s the better way to go. Unfortunately, I was having problems with their payment processing and went ahead and jumped in on Steam. Now I’m kind of stuck… I’m afraid that dividing my purchases between two different channels will screw up my discounts.