Tags

, , , , ,

Don’t read the synopsis for Bullet Train before you watch it. I did and I regret doing so. The summary is “wrong” and its bad information left me puzzled through much of the movie.

If you did read it and are about to watch, at least get this into your head. Brad Pitt does not play an assassin. It says he does, but it isn’t true.

There.

Now enjoy.

If you’re not about to watch it and wondering if you should… well, it isn’t for everyone. The ratings on Netflix’s DVD site give it a mediocre 3.2 stars over all but suggest an moderately-alluring 3.9 stars for me. Reading the written reviews, I gather that a lot of people really hated it largely because they just didn’t get it.

It’s another bit of absurdist black comedy; mostly played for laughs with a punctuation of extreme, over-the-top violence. It’s kind of been done before and done better. Bullet Train is very much in the same vein as The Gentleman, for example, which did do it better. Brad Pitt, whose top billing almost certainly was what drew me in, seems a tad off his game. Still I laughed. It was worth the quick two hours I sunk into it.

Game pairing: Train Simulator Classic with the Tōhoku High Speed & Main Line Route Add-On DLC.

– Photo by Greece-China News on Pexels.com