Tags

, , , , ,

I thought I read a bit in the paper where it was explained that Daniel Henninger was hanging up his pen. In fact, I was sure of it. I was therefore more than a bit surprised when I noticed continued content coming under the banner his WONDER LAND opinion column.

Mr. Henninger, at 76 or 77 (if Wikipedia is to be believed), has certainly reached a point in his life where he might consider retiring to a life of leisure. His WSJ-style likeness that accompanies his column might suggest someone younger but even if Wikipedia is off, it isn’t that far off. I’ve read hints about his age even in his own columns. Nonetheless, I may have to admit I was utterly wrong about what I think I read concerning his retirement. I wouldn’t be unhappy to do so; his columns are nearly always enjoyable to read.

In today’s column (behind their paywall), he writes about the electoral effect of the 2020-21 lockdowns. Noting the use of a term that really bothers me as well, he explains that almost all of the economic problems of 2022 are “overwhelmingly a function of one other word: lockdown. Lockdowns are normally associated with prison riots, not the world’s economies.”

He doesn’t need to convince me, on either point.

He then goes on to explain that the voters have noticed this too and are blaming, and punishing, the governments that did this to them. Henninger further points out that this is a global phenomenon rather than just a “Republicans versus Democrats” thing.

For now, I’m going to take him at his word that the “political backlash is coming.” A few early electoral results aside, this is something that can only be proven once it has already taken place. I’ll also note that the “whom to blame” game is not as easily figured out as it might seem.

This economic chaos started under Trump and continued under Biden. Although the Democratic majority in the House was a consistent and relevant factor, it seems like blame-intentioned voters could pull any which lever they were previously inclined to favor. Definitely in Trump’s case and, to a lesser extent, in Biden’s as well, policy was delegated to the States. Here the responsibility gets even more murky. Before they became synonymous with anti-Fauci freedoms, Texas and Florida were both known for excessively-zealous mask enforcement.

In general, voters vote out the “bums” in office at the time of the election without too much analysis as to how blame should be apportioned over multiple terms. That would spell bad news for this nation’s Democrats. This is, of course, complicated further by U.S. federalism. While the national government is firmly in the hands of that party, many States are Republican controlled. Does the buck stop only at the top, or are all incumbents on the chopping block, regardless of their actual policy or positions?

Add to that the complication that there are many voters who blame a lack of more aggressive government response (and non-compliance therewith) for longer lockdowns as the disease wore on.

Although I don’t have the overview or experience that Mr. Henninger brings to the table, I don’t necessarily see a vengeful voter necessarily getting his day at the polls. I do hope he does, though. Someone needs to get sent the message.