Tags

, , , , ,

I warned all of you when I wrote about my 1984 timeline that, because of the way I’d loaded so many videos into the Knight Lab tool, the result was apt to crash your browsers. I’ve got a similar problem when it comes to my “Games of the Vietnam War” timeline, whereby I place all my Vietnam War scenarios into an illustrated timeline. The sheer number of pictures tend to blow up my Firefox and the pushing-200 different “slides” tend to make the use of the timeline unwieldy. The Knight Lab people themselves recommend that a presentation built with their tool have no more than 20 events in the timeline.

OK.

Anyhow… I’m currently working on one solution, which involves separating the roughly-10-years of the Vietnam War into multiple, smaller timelines. While defeating one of my primary goals in creating the timeline in the first place (to see the whole war at a single shot) it helps me with my second, which is the real reason I created this monster in the first place. These timelines were originally meant for my own use. I wanted to bring scenarios from multiple sources and organize them into a coherent whole. In that, having a timeline (or timelines) that I’m not as afraid will blow up my computer, this is a plus.

The links below go to my work-in-progress. I imagine it will remain sketchy for a little bit as I work on moving stuff and as I try to get it right. Peruse or ignore as you see fit.

Early war.

Middle war 1

Middle War 2

Khe Sanh and the Tet Offensive

Even as I fiddled with all of this, I worried that it was going to come crashing down around me. I’ve recently received several notices from Google Docs that they intend to revamp their access and security for shared material. I could not imagine how this will NOT break the Knight Lab system, based as it is* on remotely accessing Google Docs data. As far as I can tell, though, the update does not apply to Google Docs and (again, as far as I can tell) is having no impact on the timelines. Of course, like anything digital, that is subject to change.

Please excuse the mess while we undergo renovations.

– Photo by Startup Stock Photos on Pexels.com

*For clarity, there is more than one way to feed the timelines their data. Google Docs is the easiest method, but it is also possible to locally host the data.