Tags

, , , ,

The film world is full of pictures that were put together using the hottest young male stars of the moment to create an instant box office draw. Less prevalent is the same formula done the young females.

I have long pegged Little Women (the 1994 film starring Winona Ryder) as exactly that, and never had an interest in it. I also never read the book, having somehow skated around when it was assigned in school.

However, as it is being taken off of Netflix, I decided to give it a whirl. It was a much better movie than I though it would be. It doesn’t exactly track with the book (As I said, I’ve never read it, but can read a plot summary), but is a faithful representation of the original work.

Not a bad story, if I may say so. I’d imagine the impact on the current generation of girls is considerably less than in the past. If anyone even reads it anymore.